Chicken Bake

The other night for dinner, I had no idea what to make, but I had some barley and grilled chicken leftover and I always have bunch of veggies in the fridge; so I threw them together and it turned out pretty well, hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!

Prep Time: 10 minutes, Cooking Time: 25 minutes

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Black pepper
  • Sea salt
  • Extra virgin coconut oil
  • Medium onion
  • 1/2 cup mini bell peppers
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken tenders
  • 1 cup of cooked barley
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar

Instructions:

Preheat your grill.  I chose to cook my chicken on the grill, but it can be baked in the oven as well but in the mid of summer who wants to turn on the oven unless it’s absolutely necessary!?!

Doctor each side of the chicken with garlic powder, onion powder, sea salt and black pepper and set those aside.

In the meantime, all the veggies can be cut and placed in a pan with some EVCO and seasonings to be sautéed.  I waited for a little before adding the mushrooms and spinach.

  

I sautéed the veggies for about 10 minutes before placing the chicken on the grill.  Since my barley was already cooked, I just added it right to the veggie mixture to warm it up a little and also added the spinach and mushrooms at this time.  Once the chicken has no more pink (approx 10 minutes), I took them off the grill, cut them into bite size pieces and added to the mixture.  Topped with 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese, let it all melt a little bit and dinner is served!

  

21 day fix containers:

1 yellow

1 red

2 green

1 blue

1 tsp

Leave a Reply

